Spaghetti Carbonara – Griyatawang’s Kitchen


Dear all my readers,

Back with me DSL live broadcast from Den Haag, Zuid Holland.

Now I just want to show you what I did half an hour ago at my kitchen, creating a special dish, an Italian delicacy: carbonara sauce.

I’m a researcher, and researcher always does research. Even when I want to try a new recipe, I need to browse several HTML pages to check the online recipe plus the youtube videos to watch the step by step cooking instruction. Well, based on my research and some improvement I made (researcher does not copy the whole alone, he/she has to adjust some parameters, introduce new variables, etc :DDD), here’s the carbonara sauce a la Me. Well, bear in mind that I don’t use bacon/pork, I use beef instead. Also, I add some broccoli ’cause I can’t live without veggies. Use long pasta such as spaghetti, fettucine, or linguini.

You need these ingredients (I don’t put units since this is very personal recipe, you can add or substract anything here and there to meet your own preference):

  • spaghetti
  • broccoli
  • eggs (use 1 whole egg and extra 1 egg yolk for one person. If you cook for two persons, you need two eggs and two egg yolks)
  • minced beef or fillet (gegrild gehakt in Dutch)
  • parmesan cheese, grated
  • creme fraiche (in authentic Italian recipe, creme is never used. Anyway, if you’d like to have it in your dish, I suggest to add it only a little. The essence of carbonara sauce is in the eggs, not in creme)
  • olive oil
  • salt and pepper to taste
  • basil and oregano to garnish
You also need these cooking utensils:
  • skillet and ladle
  • pan
  • tea spoon
Instructions:
  1. Fill the pan with sufficient water, heat it to boil.
  2. Having it boiling, add spaghetti and salt.
  3. Meanwhile, cut the broccoli into finger-pieces
  4. While the pasta is being cooked, add broccoli to the boiling water. Don’t add broccoli in the same time as pasta because by the time you drain it off, the broccoli will be extra soft you don’t want to eat it. We want it to be soft but still chewable.
  5. Prepare a skillet, pour one spoonful of olive oil. Heat it
  6. Add gegrild gehakt to the skillet. Fry it until it becomes crispy on the edge and brownish. If you include creme fraiche in your recipe, this is the time when you add it, to the skillet.
  7. On different container, beat the one egg and extra one egg yolk. Whisk it, add parmesan cheese, salt, and pepper.
  8. Take the skillet off the burner.
  9. Having cooked your pasta al dente (I prefer it to be longer than al dente, I prefer softer one like noodle), drain it.
  10. Now, you have to work REALLY FAST. Mix the gegrild gehakt with the egg mixture. We don’t want to cook the eggs. The eggs should be in thick yellowish sauce appearance, instead of scrambled because of heat.
  11. Toss the pasta to the egg+gegrild gehakt sauce.
  12. Add some grated parmesan, basil, and oregano to garnish. Voila!
Warning: you may realize that we don’t cook the eggs. You may ask the possibility of danger of cooking raw eggs. Well, it’s not raw after all. You contact raw whisked eggs with hot gegrild gehakt and hot pasta. I think that’s the same as you soft poach the eggs. Eventually, I’m here not as a food assessor to label that is good or that is bad. I just love the carbonara sauce and want to cook it by myself, stick to the original recipe. So, this is it:

So, enjoy. Bon appetite. Eet smakelijk.

Cheers,

Griyatawang

Leave a Reply

